advertisement

Free Berlin phil internet access pass

Fox

The sound of one hoof clopping
The Berliner Philharmoniker and principal conductor Sir Simon Rattle open the new season on August 24 at 7 pm CET with Brahms’s Second Piano Concerto and Witold Lutosławski’s Third Symphony.

You can try it free:
https://www.db.com/en/content/company/dch_mobile_registration.htm

As many of you know I am a big fan of this sort of delivery I think this is the future of live orchestral music and the best bit is if you have an appletv and an iOS device you can stream It in glorious hd video and high quality audio straight to your hifi.

This is what I do anyway.

It's an opportunity to try out what I have been raving about for a couple of years now. It's not the same as being there, sure, but I get to regularly hear live music by a great orchestra and in really good sound quality. It's becoming the new Radio 3 lunchtime broadcasts for me.

Anyway unashamedly enthusiastic. Try it, see what you think.

Thanks for the tip. I was in the Philharmonie last winter and saw all the remote control HD cams around the auditorium. Last time I looked, the fees were quite high for watching...mind you they are the best of the best. It also looks like a great business model for big orchestras and companies who are going to get screwed by public spending cuts and the collapse in classical recording revenues.

It's about 12 quid a month which gets you access to 30 concerts, so three £4 concerts a month and also full access to the archive (130 full concerts there) plus documentaries, analyses, discussions with conductors and players soloists and so on. It's very good value from my pont of view. As an education resource it's going to be huge. As a way of getting access to live music played without a net (classical CDs are often a editing hell made up of snippets from all sorts of different takes) it's second to none. A real sense of the BBC OB Radio 3 concerts but updated to the Internet.