advertisement

Finding a standalone DAC with minimum bells/whistles

gustav_errata

pfm Member
Hi first-time poster, hi-fi newbie here.

Lockdown and an expatriated US stimulus check stimulated me into finally upgrading from more than a decade of listening to music at best on a Cambridge Audio TV5 soundbase, at worst on cheap Creative computer speakers (with no stereo separation, no less). A flurry of research and some online new-or-used shopping later and I have found myself with the following, somewhat budget-constrained & unbalanced setup:

- Naim NAC112 + NAP150
- Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100
- SOtM sMS-200 Neo Special Edition running MPD
- DALI Oberon 5 floorstanding speakers
- Various cables: Naim NAC A5 speaker cables, Flashback Sales Performance RCA-to-DIN interconnect, MCRU "audiophile" mains block, everything else stock
- 1st gen Raspberry Pi + Gerbera DLNA/UPnP

Compared to my former setup, this sounds great and I have already put in a lot of very contented listening.

But, of course, non-stop reading makes me constantly question whether I made the right choices. I know already about possible upgrade paths like (in descending order) room treatment, a Flatcap, better NAS, fancypants USB/ethernet/power cables, etc. As an aside, it wasn't until I came here that I started to read complaints about the NAC112/NAP150 combo. Now perverse human psychology makes me start to doubt that purchase too, despite my original contentment with it...irrational, I know...thanks guys!

Anyway, getting to the point. Even as I purchased it, I saw the DacMagic 100 as a stop-gap solution to get myself up-and-running within my budget. I chose it because it's a) a decent enough, trustworthy brand with which I have previous experience; b) it's a UK brand (even if manufactured in China), so less of a concern with warranties and such than going for a Shenzen import on Amazon; and c) all reviews pointed to it being an ok enough performer.