advertisement

External dac for Node 2i?

GF670

pfm Member
I’ve found myself using my Bluesound Node 2i a lot recently for streaming Qobuz over wifi, and am curious as to whether the sound quality can be improved by connecting it to an external dac.

I have no experience at all of using dacs and from the limited research I’ve done it all seems a bit daunting in terms of choices etc.

With that in mind, I’m wondering whether an external dac is a worthwhile investment, and if so does anyone have any recommendations as to what would be good?

In terms of amplification I’m using a Croft 25R (zero gain version) and a Radford Revival STA25. In some ways I wonder whether a dac with volume control (and a remote) directly into the Radford might be an option from a convenience perspective?

Under a £Grand the RME is an excellent bit of gear - Volume, EQ, Remote and decent Headphone amp. Bit complicated once you dive in but out of the box the basics work fine. Used about £600, new about £850.

There are 2 versions, due to AKM shortage new ones are ESS chip based, the onboard software (firmware) gets updated too. Help suggestions if you state your budget.

https://www.rme-audio.de/adi-2-dac.html

Cue significant entrenched arguing.

An external DAC can change, and can improve SQ depending on what you perceive as an improvement. Though by all acounts the Node 2i sounds decent on its own. There's no real substitute for trying it for yourself.

Given then general direction of your existing gear and desire for a volume control at least as an option, I'd suggest looking at NOS (non-over sampling) models, starting with a Metrum unit on trial from Elite Audio.

Cue significant entrenched arguing.

An external DAC can change, and can improve SQ depending on what you perceive as an improvement. Though by all acounts the Node 2i sounds decent on its own. There's no real substitute for trying it for yourself.