advertisement

Essential words in a hit song

Paul L

coffee lounge for me
One of Jacko's toons reminded me how important it is to say "ow" as many imes as possible. Seemed to work for a number of singers come to think of it.

"Baby" has to be up there as well

Hi Paul,

You are not wrong there.

Just ask James Brown about "Baby".

[YOUTUBE]<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/21yFiTOTDt0&hl=en_GB&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/21yFiTOTDt0&hl=en_GB&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object> [/YOUTUBE]

Dean

Ian Astbury was a major exponent of "Baaaaybeeee"

(1:56)

Last edited by a moderator:
Not that im an expert or anything, but Bon Jovi has "Johnny" in his all his songs "Johnny used to work on the docks" "Johnny was a cowboy on a steel horse" "Johnny was a welder living on his wits" "Johnny was a sausage roll artisan at Greggs" etc...

tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, come to daddy, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis, tis

From I can't quit you (babe)": "b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-babe babe babe babe babe babe baybe I am gonna leave you".

Course, that's not a Plant/Zep original. Babe I'm Gonna Leave You was originally a folk song.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Babe_I'm_Gonna_Leave_You

and

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anne_Bredon

It also depends on the type of hit song. Yummy Yummy Yummy was a huge hit, as was Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep.

Personally, I'm with the 'good lyrics' tendency.