advertisement

Emotion or Player Proficiency

gaspode

I'v read a few of the comments here - various guitar sounds, classical recomentations, 3 albums, etc. - and it got me back to thinking about the different methods of valuing music.

My friends who are musicians tend to value those performances that are technically proficient - not always, but often.

I'm not a musician & all I care about is that it communicates with me emotionally. However that is the ultimate 'subjective' choice. Even from day to day I will connect with different music.

My experience of most of the classical recordings I have tried (not that many I'll admit) is that they tend towards accuracy over feeling. One reason I try to listen to the BBC Proms on the radio is because the live performance tends to speak to me. In fact I've found live performances by local orchestras or pub bands often mean more to me than top name performers 'going through the motions'.

So the point I wanted to come to is this - in my view studios & performers are increasingly encouraged to work towards technical accuracy rather than immediacy. I think this is killing music (especially classical).

Lets have more flawed performances with a live feel to them!

[OK guys n galls, now tell me what I've missed]

Hi gaspode

I couldn't agree more. It's the emotion invoking stuff that really touches the heart and most of the time it's live.

The one I will always remember was a massive steel drum and brass section on a makeshift stage at Alexandra Palace. I can't remember what the occassion was but they were just jamming to fill time. I has tears down my face from the sheer beauty of it.

AFAIK, White Stripes record their albums straight off, one take, warts an' all and they sound bloody good with the warts.

Mick

I remember seeing a program on TV ( Howard Goodall's "Big Bangs" IIRC ) where it was stated that a digitally mastered classical recording has more "cuts" in it than any other kind of recording.