advertisement

ECC 83 / 12AX7A Valve question

kjb

Proof reading not always a strength
I'm thinking of switching out the two 12AX7A(Sovtek) in my Leben 300XS amp. I've already changed the EL84s to positive effect.

I've very little knowledge of valves and swapping them around apart from what I've picked up here so a few questions:

Is it worth it?
What are the pros and cons of ECC83 over 12AX7A?
What brands are recommended to seek out or avoid?
Any recommended UK suppliers?

Most comparisons I can find online seem to be focused on guitar amps and gain/distortion rather than hi fi. I assume what is best for one may not necessarily be the preferred option for the other.

Thanks in advance

Kevin

Hi Kevin,
They are the same. Try to find NOS 80’s Philips/RTC ones, they are excellent and last forever.
Don’t expect any big sound quality change though.
I have tested many over 35 years, mostly in phono preamps.

I've found the Sovtek 12AX7LPS to be a very decent current production valve which holds its own admirably against much more expensive vintage valves.

Honestly, the difference between something like the 12AX7LPS and the most desirable of vintage NOS valves is often wildly exaggerated.

You could try 5751's . If you want some nice ones contact "The Bish" he's a lovely fella and has a stash of these .

The long plate (LPS) version has a reputation for being more microphonic though - in the guitar amp community anyway.

I've found the Sovtek 12AX7LPS to be a very decent current production valve which holds its own admirably against much more expensive vintage valves.

Honestly, the difference between something like the 12AX7LPS and the most desirable of vintage NOS valves is often wildly exaggerated.

absolutely seconded, IME mostly in the ol' Audio Innovations and Audio Note amps

I have old shield Mullard ECC83's in my phono stage and some Mazda's as back up. I can't tell the difference between them.