advertisement

DIY for beginners?

Kit Taylor

I lost my soldering virginity recently hardwiring my Ben Duncan transormer into a mains block. This simple task brought a zen-esque satisfaction with its comletion, so I think it would be fun to have a go at something more sophisticated.

So where does a complete novice start with DIY audio electronics?

TIA

Kit suppliers are a good starting point and you might like to think about building something useful for the workshop. A bench power supply, particularly a variable one with current limiting control, is a super bit of kit in anyone's workshop. I built my first from a design by John Linsley Hood published in Wireless World in the early '70s. I only recently upgraded this to a commercial unit as it had served me well for over 20 years. This company offers a range of kits for our needs and building such will lead to a better understanding of the principles of electronics and a greater enjoyment of the hobby. Hope all goes well.

http://www.quasarelectronics.com/

A good selection there Les and I might just be tempted http://www.quasarelectronics.com/psu679.htm.

I wish I'd built my own way back when I had a chance, I've been making do for a long time. It's one of those things that make life so much easier but does not have the "glamour" of a new phono stage or whatever.

I started out of necessity rather than for amusement as I needed a bass amp.

Kit by name...

Cheers,

Kits are definitely a good way to start. But you will be already asking yourself how all this stuff works. By far the best book on electronics I have ever read is The Art of Electronics by Horowitz & Hill (2nd edition is the current version and now costs £50). It starts by assuming zero knowledge and, if you don’t like maths, then it can be avoided completely. It is extremely enjoyable to read and it will tell you almost everything you will need to know. It is used by many companies too. It’s the Bible of electronics as far as I’m concerned.