advertisement

Disappointing ebay purchases

Neil P

pfm Member
I bought some speaker cables on ebay which I had been lusting after for 20 years, a good price, looked to be immaculate in the pics. Then they arrived.

Absolutely stunk of cigarette smoke. I think they'd been in a heavy smoker's lounge for the 20 years I'd been saving for them! Every connector was damaged, at least one had a strand of wire poking out from under the heat shrink.

And they were not cheap either. The seller offered a full refund, but has already relisted them!

Bought an old Yamaha power amp two weeks ago, for use at the office. It was surprisingly heavy and looked good, but it desperately needed a refurbishment, all potentiometers made noise and the overall sound was dreadful. I didn't know that an amp could sound that bad. Seller gave me the money back without hesitation, I binned the amp and the problem was solved.

Last edited:
A beautiful Philips N2554 cassette deck, the best there is. The alu panel was dented at the top and of course this wasn’t visible on the photos. The deck works great and sounds fantastic.
No refund asked given the very low price, kept for parts.

Bought a power amp a while ago and paid good money
When it arrived the case was distorted and didn't fit at all...as if it had been dropped on the right hand side by the courier
But zero damage to the packaging?
Went back to the ebay pictures and blew them all up and looked carefully
Knowing what I was looking for I could see the amp was already damaged before sending...
No mention of this in the description

Returned at sellers cost for refund:mad:

I bought some speaker cables on ebay which I had been lusting after for 20 years, a good price, looked to be immaculate in the pics. Then they arrived.