advertisement

Dead pigeon!

linnfomaniac83

I bet you can’t wheelie a unicycle!
Something has killed a pigeon in my front garden. I could do whatever figuring out what. It’s completely torn in half with the two main halfs about 20’ apart and it was killed in another part of the garden... where my neighbour’s cat likes to hang out. I’d just surprised that a cat could do this much damage to such a large bird... and I don’t want to knock the neighbour’s door and ask them to clean it up if their cat hasn’t done it. Given that I can’t even walk unaided myself, it’s going to be a difficult and unpleasant job cleaning it. I’m not a cat expert, can a cat pull a pigeon apart like this?

Reactions: MVJ
Personally doubt that, despite my inherent distaSte for cats.

I occasionally get a Sparrow Hawk in my garden, which takes much smaller things than pigeons and will spend a good 15 minutes or so pulling them to bits before leaving a pile of bones and feathers behind..

Sorry to hear you have such a mess to clear up:(

Sounds more like a female Sparrowhawk's work,Pidgeon collared dove is their size prey & the male is smaller so hunts smaller prey like blackbirds song birds doubles the chances of a kill. We have a large garden and on the edge of town so have regular visits from Sparrowhawks & often see collared doves/pidgeons bits around on the lawn.

Last edited:
When returning home from work, the builder next door said our cat had caught a pigeon. I had a look around and only found two wings.

Could be a fox.

Bloss

I’d though it could possibly be a fox but given that they’re nocturnal and pigeons don’t tend to be, I was unsure. I know my neighbour’s cat frequents my front garden... much, much more than he does his owner’s garden, but this looks beyond the capabilities of a cat. It’s a proper mess and will need picking up with a shovel... which I can’t easily do on crutches, especially since my arthritis is spiking at the moment. Wildlife is a pain in the arse at times.:(