advertisement

Cyrus 6 vs2 Internal fault repair

I have a Cyrus 6 vs2 which has flashing per light indicating an internal problem. I'm new to this unit but have only done minor repairs to audio equipment before and some elections. Would like to sound out the problem to others and hopefully get some advice from wiser heads.
  • Headphones, one channel out, other weak and distorted.
  • Voltage output no input on speaker output is .02v both.
  • 1 of 2 internal fuses has blown.
  • All rail power at what it should be apart from -15v which is at around 1v
  • No obvious signs of damage.
  • Carried out basic continuity tests on MOSFET's and nothing seems out of order
I guess the protection circuit is active (hence the flashing red power light). Would this be responsible for the weak degraded output on the one channel that still works? Or is this an indication of another problem?
I'm reluctant to try the good fuse in the other channel to see if it works as I've not found the cause of the blow in the first place.
Anyone have any advice on what I should do now. I've only got a multimeter but have an oscilloscope on the way.
I understand that the FETs have special thermal interface pads which make the roughness of the cast aluminium manageable as a surface for thermal conduction, thinking of replacing them with something like bergquist GPVOUS pads
a huge amount to choose from though. Wondering what source I should be concerned about.
Much appreciated.

Download the user manual from Cyrus and you will get the different flashing led info re possible faults. You really need a full circuit diagram so I would search the net for that but Cyrus Technical info is not easily obtained. I have info on the 111, 111i and the 8xp ie before and after the 6. Unfortunately the old CU forum has gone as you may have received some help there.
Had the LS output cables been shorted ?