advertisement

Crikey !

Lovely collection, Richard, but bear in mind that many are going to be mono. I have a hunch these are going to attract competition as there are going to be some (valuable) gems, though he does seem to have some idea if he picked out two!

Doesn't seem to be too many mono ones from those shown. 60-70's would imply not really much mono...

If I had the spare cash, I would definitely bid on this collection.

Jack

I'm a classical novice but I know that i will only like a small proportion of it. I would cherry pick what I like and the best labels and then could move it on. Providing a full listing and splitting it into say three job lots of x500 would possibly yield a small profit. There might be a few gems in there as well which on long term Buy It nows could bring about another extra few hundred quid. I will need a second deck to go through it though. I'm not scanning all those records on the Miyabi.

I've bought a couple of similar lots (not quite this big, but the biggest was about 1200 records or a little more). I'm not sure it's worth doing for profit, but by picking out what I wanted and selling on the rest as smaller job lots, I've acquired my current collection of probably 1000 LPs for about £150.

One thing I've learnt though is that looking at 'book value' or Ebay buy-it-now prices isn't much use, as there are enough cheap records around for people not to pay top prices for all but the rarest, most collectible, near mint records. So don't expect huge profits, but a good, cheap collection is a good aim.

Incidentally, when he says £200 for one record, it may be that he has a narrow-band edition of something worth £200 as a wide-band grooved issue...

Yep thanks for the tips. I'm not bothered about the profit bit really but if I can amass a batch of nice deccas, DG's, RCA red labels etc. at a small cost then i'll be more than happy.