advertisement

Coltrane ?

early

pfm Member
Now don't shout at me , but ...................... I just don't get it .

I know he has a god like status amongst jazz fans , and I'm a jazz
novice , and I've only listened to " Love Supreme " and " Giant Steps " ,
two oft cited " classics " , but to me he seems to relentlessly overplay .

Is it me , am I uncultured ? .

Am I listening to the wrong albums ? .

Or is he the jazz equivelant of Ywengie Malmsteen .

It took me a while. I find it best to ignore him if I'm not getting it, and usually it comes to me. He is very out there though. Have you tried Ballads or some of the early Prestige stuff?

I know he has a god like status amongst jazz fans , and I'm a jazz novice , and I've only listened to " Love Supreme " and " Giant Steps " , two oft cited " classics " , but to me he seems to relentlessly overplay .

There are many jazz aficionados who didn't and still don't get Coltrane or any of the 'New Thing'. Perhaps it's just not for you.

I don't particularly like the two albums you mention - they seem very overrated to me - and I much prefer his later work to anything he did on Atlantic or Prestige (which immediately puts me in a small minority). Although I enjoy many of Coltrane's extended solo explorations, to be frank he can also be irritating and rather tediously repetitive, and I find more invention and imagination in several other saxophonists, some of whom owe an obvious debt to Coltrane. If you want to hear less of Coltrane the virtuoso, and more of him working with other musicians, albums such as Africa / Brass, Ascension and Meditations might be worth trying - although the latter two are very far from traditional jazz music, and are among the first free jazz recordings made. If this puts you off, do try Africa / Brass though - it is really excellent.