advertisement

Collection of vintage DACs increases…

Do you have a favourite vintage dac chip and you hunt out different dacs containing them to see how they differ? Or is it just me?? .. ;)

Do you have a favourite vintage dac chip and you hunt out different dacs containing them to see how they differ? Or is it just me?? .. ;)

I initially thought DAC tech was moving forward so fast that vintage stuff was just rubbish but then similar to CD players I had a few shocks when actually listening to them (my preferred CDP is a heavily modified Naim CDI - TDA1541A-S2). First I had a Pioneer N-50 streamer, sounded much better using digi out and Rega DAC-R, then a Chinese TDA1541 DAC beat the Rega, then a really old Camelot Arthur beat that…then a Micromega Duo brick DAC beat that (all to my ears of course). A few weeks ago I got my first Wadia Digimaster X-32 - after servicing it has me questioning everything.

to be honest, I’m not expecting much from the P3a, but it was cheap enough for me to listen and resell at a profit :) The X-32 we’ll see - maybe a perfect control if I decide to try and modify the other one I have (assuming I can fix it!).

so no, it’s not only you :D

I think I have a preference for fhe TDA5141a dacs but haven't managed to get one and hold on to it. I had an original Arcam Black Box but sold it without doing any upgrades. A mistake I feel, in retrospect.

I have acquired a very unusual and rare vintage dac. Made by now-defunct US manufacturer Altis, the DAP Reference Bitstream is the best vintage dac I have yet heard. Costing a cool $3000 in 1992, it has a large external power supply and dual differential design. I took it to a friend's house for a listen. He sold his Rega Dac-R shortly thereafter! He then picked up a Monarchy Audio 18B, but this too is not as good as the Altis:

My DAC is from 1990 and ousted a £3.6k Bryston in my system. It was $10k when launched.

49563952806_b41015f6dc_b.jpg

51711830792_f87fa03842_b.jpg