advertisement

Cables (eek)

Mogreg

pfm Member
I’m a bit of a newbie in Hifi forum world, but I’ve observed that the mention of speaker cables, mains cables, etc, with regards to sonic improvements, seem to cause all hell to break loose, but people don’t have the same sort of issue with headphone cables. Is there a specific reason for this? I’ve never changed cables on any of my headphones, genuinely asking if I should consider it.

Well ... always a tricky subject - I've some pricey interconnects in my system but for headphones I've not really spent a great deal. I bought a replacement Kimber cable for my HD 650s and gave it a couple of weeks, I've now gone back to the standard cable and sold the Kimber on, I didn't hear a great deal of difference, perhaps a more 'open' treble but not enough of an improvement to justify the cost. YMMV as they say.

I have used stock, Moon Audio Black Dragon and Cardas Clearlight cables with a pair of Hifiman HE560 and think they did make a meaningful difference. Probably depends on the level of your 'phones and the quality of the stock cable. Got different phones now so gave the cables away as didn't fit the new ones.

Do manufacturers ‘cheap out’ on cables? The cables bundled with my Utopias seem like the’re well build & good quality. I guess headphones is a weird one as cables are included, whereas with amps or speakers they don’t come into the equation

Hello
Hifi is loads of marketing unfortunately
I'm not a cable believer , what you need is well terminated cable
Spending thousands is not the way to go IMHO
Cheers

I don't know what it's worth but I have a pair of Audioquest Nighthawk headphones that came with a standard copper cable & a silver (not sure if it's just silver plated or pure silver) cable.
They honk on about the benefits of the silver cable but none to sure I can hear any difference, if there is hardly big in any way.