1. Things you need to know about the new ‘Conversations’ PM system:

a) DO NOT REPLY TO THE NOTIFICATION EMAIL! I get them, not the intended recipient. I get a lot of them and I do not want them! It is just a notification, log into the site and reply from there.

b) To delete old conversations use the ‘Leave conversation’ option. This is just delete by another name.
    Dismiss Notice

Build supertweeter into two way cab?!

Discussion in 'd.i.y.' started by Musiciseverything, Sep 5, 2019.

1. hello all.

I’m very new to this and fascinated by it all. I recently acquired a pair of old goodmans speakers and I’m blown away by their transparent mids and highs and their huge involving soundstage, the boxes just disappear! They are so fun and dynamic to listen to I can almost forget about the slightly light and woolly low end.

Although the cone tweeters are doing a spectacular job in so many ways, they are a little bit rolled off. The crossover is ridiculously simple, being only an inductor and an 8uf electrolytic. I’ve ordered polys to replace the caps, which may make a bit of difference to the extension, maybe. I’ll learn as to the result either way.

The question is as in the title. Would it be relatively simple to add a tweeter crossed over high, so that it doesn’t interfere with the existing tweeter, and takes off were the existing one leaves off in terms of extension? I think that with a bit more treble extension and perhaps paired with the right sub, these speakers could be just what I’m after.

Looking forward to hearing what anyone thinks.

Thanks in advance, Dave

2. Arkless Electronics

Arkless Electronics Trade: Amp design and repairs.

Simple enough if great accuracy is not needed... and with those speakers I don't see that as an issue!