advertisement

Best Mahler (Conductors)

Alex S

carbon based lifeform
Unlike my recent thread on Bruckner where I'm a relative novice, I've listened to Mahler for a long time and have my own views that I'll share. Other recommendations very welcome. I'm slowly getting into historic recordings but know much more from 70s onwards.

No 1: Can't really argue with Kubelik although I still like my Haitink.
No.2: I was a Rattle groupie back in the day and have a signed copy of CBSO. These days I might give the nod to Jansons Concertgebouw live but I like Tennstedt, and Klemperer of course.
No. 3: Try as I might, I still think Bernstein NYPO is best. Kubelik too.
No. 4 : Surprisingly, to me, I really like Boulez here. Of the lauded versions, I think Szell with the Cleveland is excellent but Sinopoli fairly rubbish. Maazel and Reiner in the upper middle.
No. 5 : I'm not sure who I like best here, maybe Bernstein again.
No. 6: Tennstedt's live version walks away with this.
No. 7: Might give the nod to Abbado here but inconclusive.
No. 8: I have a full set of Solti vinyl including his lauded 8th. I'll give the nod to Tennsdedt.
No. 9: Karajan always gets the vote here. Mine goes to Dudamel and Harding, each good in their own way.
No. 10: Rattle always gets the nod here and gets mine too. He edges out Dausgaard and Yannick Nézet-Séguin with some ease to be honest. As to BPO or CBSO, each have their merits.

Last edited:
Particularly in Mahler I like to listen to different performances, which tend to bring out different aspects of the music. So I don't have strong first-choices as such, but a few favourites:

(1)Solti (LSO)
(2)Jurowski (though Bernstein, Rattle, Klemperer, Kaplan all bring something different)
(3) Haitink (also recently been listening to Chailly, which is good, especially movements 4 & 5)