advertisement

Best file format & bit rate for cd ripping?

Pinky

In suspense, not compressed
Hi All,

Firstly, apologies for a basic question. I'm new to ripping cd's to my computer and don't know the best file format and bit rate to rip them to. As well as playing off the computer I also want to transfer some of them to my Sony Walkman so it needs to be compatible with that too. I thought that WAV lossless might be good but don't really know.

Suggestions welcome please...

Depends.. Best for what? Quality? Lots of tunes on something portable?

Personally, FLAC is what I tend to use, its lossless so (in theory) is as good as the original. I also rip to high bitrate mp3 (320kbps) for on the move usage.

Sam

Thanks Sam. Quality is the priority for me.

WAV lossless is showing at 1411.2 kbps on my computer options. Of all the options it gives me that seems to have the highest kbps.

Hi,

with some patience you'll be able to find a number of useful tips here, because the subject is sharing more and more interest.
As far as I can tell, there are two major choices: WAV (uncompressed, same bit rate as CD - 16/44.1 -. writable on a CD-R and playable by almost any piece of equipment, typical of the Windows platform and seen by virtually any digital player or streamer; FLAC, a compressed but lossless format which is also much used, in fact almost all Hi-res files - such as those in 24/96 - are available in FLAC for download. FLAC, though, is not recognized by Windows Media Player unless you add a specific piece of software, and I believe not by iTunes either, while media players like Foobar2000 and VLC, free, play almost any format in existence.