advertisement

Bang-for-buck power supply upgrade; or, musings on anticipating audio improvements as a neophyte

gustav_errata

pfm Member
I do have a question at the bottom, so if you're feeling "tl;dr" just skip ahead to the "---". But first, some things I've been thinking about from my perspective as a newbie here, especially during these strange times of lockdowns and social distancing. So apologies if this is a bit longer than usual posts.

I bought my first stereo this past year, upgrading from a Cambridge Audio TV base to a Naim NAC112/NAP150 pair, a Cambridge Audio Dac Magic 100, a SOtM sMS-500 streamer, and some Dali Oberon 5 speakers. The itch began about a year earlier upon listening to a friend's active monitors (no idea what the were) and realising just how much I was missing out on listening to music on a souped-up sound bar. But beyond that, I didn't really know what to expect, sound-wise. This was in the middle of the national lockdown, so listening sessions were out of the question. I have never had the opportunity to hear a high-end system, something truly out of my reach. I've never heard a valve amp, or a class A amp, etc. etc.