advertisement

Astell & Kern Kann vs Other models - Anyone have experience?

stimpy

pfm Member
Hi there folks,

Had a last minute late night eBay purchase of an AK Kann earlier in the year. I'm new to all this digital stuff let alone PMPs. I'll admit I hadn't really done my research and the unit has far larger storage capacity than I need and is of course quite sizeable..

All that said, so far I have found the actual sound pretty impressive from it. Currently I only have a pair of cheap IEMs (China DQ6) but would like to buy some decent cans for it - I'll start another thread I guess... I have also plugged it into my Linn system where it has performed well also.

I guess my question here is do some of the smaller - ie SR25 units - sound as good as this unit or what else have folk used in their line up?. I'm aware that the Kann as an amp is pretty impressive compared to many others and thus should drive decent cans well also?

Currently I only have a few albums on it a mate put on, but I will be burning some of my CDs onto it shortly ( **Even though I know some don't agree with this**). I believe from a streaming point of view it is very limited, something I have not done yet but may in the future future...

Thanks all...