advertisement

Aperture dies with Mojave

It been on the cards a while now the merger of OS X and iOS. Mojave is the last Apple O/S that provides any 32 bit support.

You can always have a dual boot Mac so that older apps still run.

Cheers,

DV

Has anyone successfully managed to export an Aperture library yet? I'm having a world of pain here as amazingly Photos doesn't have any proper import/migration facility. Apple really has jumped the shark in so many ways since Jobs died, idiocy like this is sadly commonplace on Tim Cook's watch.

PS I'm not prepared to pay a subscription for Lightroom or anything like that, though a one-off purchase is fine.

I have no experience of this product but it claims to be an Aperture users product.
https://skylum.com/

I have invested my time and money in Lightroom and pay up for the ongoing development of the product.
Having been involved in the development of retail software apps I have some sympathy for the cost of development of such apps.

I think I’ve now managed to at least get everything out and into a standard folder structure with this 3rd party Aperture Exporter. This has got me the original file plus a file for my final edited version, plus maintained all my complex project and folder structure (which seems utterly beyond Photos). This is probably acceptable to me, though obviously I lose any way to later alter an edit anymore, I’d have to go right back to the original and start again. The important thing was getting my data structure out as I have things very logically sorted as so much of my images are of audio kit, record labels etc the ‘by date’, ‘by place’, ‘face recognition’ stuff Photos offers is just beyond useless to me.

I now have a file structure kind of:

/Photos/Audio/Quad/Quad 303 inside(1).jpg
/Photos/Music/Bands/Beach House(3).jpg
/Photos/Music/Bands/Beach House(3) WithAdjustments.jpg
...etc