advertisement

Anthony Braxton’s Bar

mandryka

pfm Member
Who can guide me through his formidable quantity of recordings?
What is he about - graphic scores à la Cardew? Structured improvisations à la Richard Barrett? Or what?

I’m no expert, but if you want a fairly easy way in Five Pieces on Arista from 1975 is really rather good. I’ve got this on vinyl and the 8xCD box of Black Saint and Soul Note stuff, which is more ‘modern classical/avant’ in many respects. I hear echoes of Webern, Boulez etc in his work, he’s definitely his own thing in the jazz world. I don’t know enough to add more, but I’ll be watching this thread.

PS Annoyingly the stuff I know seems to be out of print, hence my inability to spam the thread up with lovely Amazon links.

I was about to post to say I’ve finally found something which I think I actually like, but searching for the image I noticed something which suggests it isn’t “by” Anthony Braxton. Maybe I only like Braxton not by Braxton.

Here’s aforementioned image

41HRbu1TzfL.jpg

and here's a link for Tony

Anthony Braxton, Duke Ellington, Roland Dahinden, Hildegard Kleeb, Dimitris Polisoidis, Robert Holdrich - Concept of Freedom - Amazon.com Music

And here’s the comment which made me pause for thought

By constructing a musical reality through the compositional impetus of Braxton and Ellington, these musicians remind us that the “Concept Of Freedom” is an ongoing challenge that requires commitment, sensitivity, creativity, and vigilance, and that Art is not an escape from life, but an experience essential to life's meaning and value. — Art Lange

https://outhere-music.com/en/albums/concept-of-freedom-hatology-614

As the above comment indicated, I've been struggling a bit with most of the stuff I've found so far.

I started listening to Composition 40F/23J. It is clearly very fine music, full of ideas etc. And these guys are obviously a team, and produce some long incandescent passages.