advertisement

Am I looking at the right culprit?

Sich

pfm Member
Any input appreciated.
I’m a fairly recent vinyl noob and whilst I love some aspects of vinyl vs cd (transparency, soundstage etc) I do find there’s a lack of punch compared to my cd set up.

Treble to upper midrange are generally lovely but lower midrange/upper bass and below seems a little muddy and I’m definitely not getting the dynamic range I find from cd.

My vinyl set up-
Linn axis / basik plus / goldring 1012 gx
Rega fono mk 2
Naim XS 2

CD - CD5XS With Teddy Pardo power supply

Is this a fair comparison between the 2 mediums?

My gut feel is that the rega is the weak link purely based on the Hifi lore of using similar value items (comparatively) within the chain.

However, not having any previous comparisons to go on I can’t really know for sure.
Am I looking in the right place?

If so any suggestions on a worthwhile upgrade to the phono stage?

Have you tried siting the Axis on its own dedicated support?

Assuming you have the necessary space available, an IKEA Lack table can be a revelation. Initially, you might think that your bass has disappeared, only to find that when turned up a bit all is tighter and more rhythmic. Of course, the results can be affected by other environmental and system characteristics, not to mention one's taste, however, a Lack is a very cheap thing to try.

P.S. I should like to add that IME your phono stage has little to do with this.

What's your budget? I'm a big fan of the Musical Fidelity M3X Vinyl which was the single biggest upgrade I experienced from my earlier setups. A bunch of sites and mags we're giving it very positive reviews so I rolled the dice on it. Very glad I did! Previously I'd been using a first gen Schiit Mani which was ok but I didn't find it much better than the built in stage of my A-S1200.