advertisement

Advice on valve amps

jamwat

pfm Member
Hey All,

I'm looking into selling my avondale / naim gear and going into valves.

Which valve amps are worth while looking into ?

I'm looking into an integrated in the region of £2-3k ish.

Using KEF reference 201 speakers so the amp must besuitable for these speakers

Any advice would be appreciated because I have no or very little knowledge of valve amps

Thanks

Jamie

Why? Is there something that you don't like with your setup and if so what are you trying to achieve?

If you are going to keep the speakers then you will be better off with SS as they are not very efficient at 86dB.

According to the spec max output is 110dB (I assume at 1 meter). To reach that SPL will require an amp that can deliver 126w of unclipped power and thats not really in valve territory. So you should be look at amps that can give around 200W.

Cheers,

DV

DV,

nothing really wrong, just want to give some valves a try having heard some a while back.
from what you say I need to llok at speakers as well, so what type / specs should i look into ?

Jamie

I'm looking into valves also. Have heard a few setups recently.

Not sure you would generally listen at 110db though would you? So whilst your Kef's wouldn't be the natural choice a 40-50 watt KT88 or 6550 amp wouldn't have too much of an issue driving them.

it's not only efficiency that makes speakers valve friendly. you have air tight ATM-1 at classifieds at the wam, 36w/ch

Always try your proposed purchase with your existing speakers, don't rely on spec's. You would be surprised what works and doesn't work in combination even when the rated power of the amp and the sensitivity of the speakers say it should work. One of my valve amps sounds wonderful with isobarically loaded WB Discoveries but sounds like rubbish with more efficient (but less well acoustically damped) Spendors. So just take time and listen.