advertisement

Advice needed on mini-monitor cabinet wood

flashgo

DIY Practitioner
I had some spare Hiquophon tweeters, so I decided to build some mini-monitors. (Not the greatest logic, I know, but such is the mindset of this hobby.) At this point, I’ve also acquired some KEF B110 mids and appropriate X-over components and hardware. The plan is to build some Falcon Acoustics clones that are similar to (but better than) KEF Ref 101s. I also have the help of a professional carpenter friend who has experience building speakers. Oh yes, I’ve never built speakers before.

I need advice on wood. The Falcons are sealed boxes constructed of 12mm baltic birch. I’m told that this wood gives a little so that the boxes effectively absorb the back wave off the mids. (What do I know?) However, the KEF B110 has a mounting flange that takes up most of the thickness of the birch ply, so there’s no way they’ll be supported on the 12mm front baffle. I've never seen a Falcon, but I have some KEF Ref 101s, and they appear to have a thicker front baffle that accommodates the B110s.

Alternatives we’re considering:
  1. use an 18mm thick baltic ply on the front, but that would require buying a huge chunk of wood for $50, only to use a few bits,
  2. glue an extra 12mm wooden frame behind the B110 flanges, or
  3. make the cabinets out of solid 18mm local mesquite wood.
With either birch ply or mesquite, the speakers will have style. Here’s a picture of a drawer constructed of the birch ply by my friend. Check out the finished end grain!

cabinets1.jpg

I love mesquite, but I fear it’ll affect the sound. My friend can also do a 3mm mesquite veneer over the birch, but will that adversely affect the sound since it’s a relatively thick veneer?

Hi,