advertisement

Acoustic guitars

Tony L

Administrator
I’m toying with the idea of buying a nicer acoustic guitar, though have no idea what at this stage. I’m a pretty terrible guitarist by any measure (entirely self taught, all the bad habits etc, I could teach bad habits), but I love just quietly noodling around and tend to play my electric for half an hour to an hour most days. I never get much better but it is an enjoyable part of the day!

I do have an acoustic, a cheap Epiphone AJ10 that is actually surprisingly good considering it only cost about £100 twenty or so years ago. My main issue is it is a jumbo, and that’s rather bigger than is comfortable to sit with and certainly far louder than I need (it is far louder than I play my electric). I have a feeling what I want is a ‘parlour’ guitar, or maybe even a nylon strung classical. Just something really nice to play, but fairly small in body size and quiet for home noodling about (never gigging). Definitely don’t want anything with any electrics etc. Just a really nice simple little acoustic.

No real budget as such, though if fairly expensive I’d want it to hold its value well, i.e. happy to consider the lower-end of US-made Taylors, Martins etc. I guess the real question is ‘parlour’ vs. classical vs. something else?

Classical guitars have a much wider fretboard, so I’d avoid that if not specifically looking to play classical.

I have a 1-series Taylor, and it’s a really nice guitar, well made (in their well run Mexico factory). It’s solid top, but the back and sides are “layered”. Not a problem unless your funny about “not all solid wood”!

My mate's 16-year old daughter just bought a Taylor Academy 10 after spending a couple of hours looking at a range of slightly smaller guitars from a guitar shop here in Glasgow and apparently, she knew within 60 seconds of playing it that that was the one she - her dad - would be buying. I use a Taylor Big Baby myself and the playability is off the charts :)