advertisement

ACD3 help please!

antinchip

pfm Member
My ACD3 lost output in one channel so I sent it back to Les to check out and repair if possible. Les told me it was and odd issue, mech was changed several times but not solved, original mech was fine (I have a spare in any event). Eventually the issue was apparently resolved and the ACD3 sent back to me.

However when hooked up on return, whilst it powered up just fine and disc spinning, there is no output at all. Perhaps transit damage, although transit screw in place, foam in the mech to secure the laser and double boxed. Took the sleeve off, no visible internal damage, nothing loose.

Unfortunately Les is unable to explain works done or help me further at present (genuine reasons) and I have no electronics experience or knowledge. I am nervous about shipping it elsewhere but would be keen to hear from/or suggestions for, someone who might be able to assist. I am based near Chippenham in Wiltshire.

Meanwhile I am in the market for a suitable replacement to tide me over, either short term or otherwise (maybe comparison if the ACD3 is revived), budget in the region of £400. Musical taste in the prog, classic rock genre. Very much enjoy the ACD3 sound. I prefer a rich presentation and dislike anything too strident. Rest of system;

WTA GT with DV20XX Mk2.
Rothwell Headspace head amp.
Croft RIAA-R.
Croft 25R pre-amp.
Croft 7R mono's.
Tannoy Turnberry SE's
Streaming via iphone and AEX or Pure i20 dock.
Legacy Cambridge Audio Dacmagic 2 DAC (unused).
Beresford Bushmaster 2 DAC (unused)

I would be interested in any suggestions for a suitable replacement player (Linn Genki on the shortlist, don't like the look of the Regas) and may well do a "wanted" post in the Classifieds section. Many thanks.

Cheers

Anthony