advertisement

a system for a musician and violin maker...?

Rockmeister

pfm Member
over 20 years ago, I helped a friend put together a simple but 'accurate' system, comprising a record deck (now long gone), a Creek 4040 amp and a pair of kit speakers based on Rogers LS35a's (Wilmslow audio). The friend is question is a guitarist/mandolin/violin player and singer in a local good folk band, but is, by trade, a Luthier...a stringed instrument maker and restorer. The relelvance of which is simply that if anyone can distinguish the finest possible variations in tone, timbre and all those other things, he can. And would like to, more. Typically, he has been OK with the creek/kit speakers until he mastered his own CD and realised he wasn't really hearing himself.
I've not asked him about budget, but it won't be big. My first thoughts are to look back to Wilmslow and see what time has done to smallish studio monitor copies, and then find a new CD player and amp to suit. If the lot cost four figures that might be ok? ish. Wilmslow's reply was their new 'Overture' monitor...small, accurate but with a Scanspeak top end. The Volt bass/mid is known for it's detail and acuracy so it sounds right.
Music will be 70% folk. Thunderous bass not required. It's 90db efficient so amps from what? 40-75wpc would be fine, and a CD player required. Clean, not clinical. ALL ideas very welcomed.

Anyone interested in Mark can find him here...http://www.mhsi.co.uk/index.htm and if you are near the Isle of Wight and need repair of sales of violins etc please think of him. Amazing bloke, amazing work (sry for the advert :) ).

Or this article about his work.http://www.mhsi.co.uk/059_Strad200907.pdf

Thanks