advertisement

A review of 15 high-end speakers on home demo, inc B&W, Boenicke, Magico, ProAc, Sonus Faber& Wilson

duckworp

pfm Member
This is an article documenting my 18 month search for the perfect speaker. I decided to write it as I had many people say that they found my amplifier review useful (https://pinkfishmedia.net/forum/thr...demo-naim-v-luxman-v-devialet-v-vitus.212299/) and I found it hard to find decent reviews for many of these speakers and so I thought some other PF readers in the market for a high-end speaker may find it useful. They are only reviews of a few lines each but I have attempted to capture the essence of the speaker in those few sentences.

Here is the background. I am a music industry professional and require the finest music reproduction I can afford. My business is based at home without a dedicated audio room and so the equipment has to reside in my lounge.

If you are interested the lounge is 3.6m x 5.5m, and open-plan at one of the longer ends, with the speakers firing across the room, located in the chimney alcoves, and with the front of the speaker located 60cm from the wall, and 1m from the side walls. The room has nasty bass modes around 48 kHz and 96 kHz. Music produced in the last 20 years with prominent bass tends to activate these room modes and a resulting bass boom can occur.

The rest of the system is an integrated amp and separate CD/DAC manufactured by Vitus. The amp is solid state with 100W maximum output, and it is known for an analogue, almost valve-like, sound.

So here are the speakers, starting with the one which I'd had for a few years:

B&W 804 Diamond (2012 model, so not the most recent 2016 iteration).