advertisement

Garrard 401 fun

gortnipper

loose nut
I have been farting around with my 401 on and off for a couple of years now. I got it pretty cheaply in the first part of 2007 and have been doing this and that to it since then.

4129690975_e9ce905dc0_o.jpg

But, I have been listening to my 301 which is in a dual slab sandwich Jarrah (I think) plinth for a the last 6 months or so (god - maybe longer) while I have been tweaking the 401's plinth to try and get rid of some resonance issues with it. Or should I say, I have been listening to the 301 while the 401 was sitting there waiting for me to do it. But I finally finished it, and it sat for a while longer waiting for some parts that a mateh dropped over - namly the Pete Riggle VTAF and his OL Silver arm - so we could do a straight A/B between the two decks with as many of the same components as possible.

So, rather than changing arms and risk my cantilever (again), I decided to just mount the mate's VTAF bushing and vertical guide onto the arm board, and then just slot my arm in. This also saved a bunch of time as this part took about 10 minutes - and the cantilever's alignment was dead on! I just had to adjust the overhang about 0.6 mm (pats self on back). All up, about an hours job.

I am using the Rollerblock Jrs, like I was on the 301. Both decks have a Kokomo bearing. Same cork underlay and Herbie's Way Excellent mats. Only differences in the set-ups are the deck and plinth.