advertisement

Modding - Where to start

readams

No longer wine tasting
Apologies if this has been covered elsewhere, but I did a search on where to start and drew a blank

Due to unforeseen circumstances, ill health and a relationship breakdown, I find myself unable to work for 6 months and the need to move from a house to a flat.

This means I need to downsize my system and also leaves me with a lot of time on my hands. Therefore I need a new hobby and I thought I would kill 2 birds with one stone and start looking at DIY HiFi.

I have a couple of confessions I need to make

1. I have no electronics experience. I consider myself vaguely intelligent and able to follow (relatively simple) instructions
2. I like Naim Audio - there I've said it, but I'm not evangelical. Things can be improved upon

I would like to start a project with an old CB pre-amp/power supply/power amp and mod them over a period of weeks in a bid to help me convalesce, and keep me sane. At the same time I could downsize my system but still keep an active interest in the hifi hobby.

Any ideas where to start? Websites, books etc. What Naim items should I be on the look out for? I'm not looking to spend lots of money, or make a profit but just keep my mind, and to a lesser extent my body, ticking over whilst I recover

TIA

Richard

Hi Richard.

What you could do is this: find a 32.5 preamp, snaps psu, and a 110 power amp (or upwards). The 32.5 is the best diy choice as the boards remove, mod, slot back in. The snaps is the best psu choice as its cheapest and mods can be simple (dual railing for eg) to medium difficulty (replacing the boards with ALWSR superregulators). Next best pre is a 42.5 (or better just go for a 62)- cheaper than a 32.5 and have much space in, but the downside is any mods need the whole motherboard removing to get at.