advertisement

Space Tech Super Rectifier

Well... I've ordered one of these so will report back in a few months when it's turned up and has been plummed into the system.

I have been using a super rectifier for over 5 years now, it makes a huge difference with my space tech Labs qa112 preamp and my space tech Labs dac. I can hear more details, but not in an etched bright kind of way, also way bigger soundstage. I'm going to get another super rectifier this year so I have one for my preamp and my dac.

As far as I can see it's not listed on their site so I can't see any details. Personally I'd be ultra careful about high voltage cables going to an off board rectifier + the issue of whether it's directly or indirectly heated for ht delay

Found it under accessories. Seems to be a rectifier /capacitor /choke /capacitor in a box. Probably would improve non choke psus, could lead to some resonance with an existing choke psu

Looks like it’s just a metal box with a filament transformer and a pair of UX4 sockets for a pair of 3B22 xenon arc rectifier valves. US$952 only!

The super version has an additional choke. US$1104 only!

http://www.r-type.org/exhib/abh0077.htm

Easy to build for yourself, but beware if you use the mercury vapour rectifiers, not a nice result if you break one!

Both rectifier types need to be pre heated before AC voltage is applied. You may need to check the bias on the power valves in the amplifier if your replacing a valve rectifier, 5U4G, GZ34, GZ37 etc, with one of these as the forward voltage drop is much less.