advertisement

To have one amplifier or several

I have two systems and three amps i.e. one backup. I think there's room for another one in my life if something interesting and affordable cropped up.

Tbh though I find speakers have more of an ongoing appeal to me, there are three pairs in the classifieds at the mo' that I can't stop lusting after :D

I have my Naim stereo setup in a listening room, and a Denon 5.1 AV setup in the main living room.

For other rooms, I use a HomePod (bedroom and office/guest room) or HomePod Mini (kitchen).

Had a Sansui Eight with ESL 57s in the office, but moved them to storage when the room became an office/guest room after retirement.

I've been using one amp that I'm perfectly happy with for the last twenty years. I'd say that if you feel the need to swap amps all the time you've got the wrong amps?

Do many people have seasonal swaps eg Tube/Class A in winter and class AB or class D in the summer ?

I have a Sugden A21a (Class A) on my rack at the moment and will swap it for one of my other amps soon - couldn't bear to have it on in the summer due to it's heat. Luckily I have some other quality options. I do need to sell one or two amps (and speakers, and DACS) but can't decide !

I do have some spare cash, and have tended to buy used thinking I can sell on if I want to. But I appear to have become a collector !

I've never had problems with class A in summer tbh. Also never understood why people with thousands of pounds of kit are worried about their electricity bill. Having separate amps to make that bill lower - doesn't make any sense at all.

Multiple amps.... I suppose it depends on whether you view Hifi as a means to and end, or an end in itself.
Personally I don't get the "collector" thing.