advertisement

No more internet contracts

richardg

Admonishtrator
I recently set up a new business, working from a garage where internet cable connection would have been expensive, so I decided to try usb tethering the laptop to my phone. It turns out it is just as fast as an internet connection. So I tried it at home. Again, no problems using the phone for streaming music and video etc to other devices via tethering or bluetooth. So I cancelled my internet contract there also. I'm now up 100 euros a month across both properties.

Is this the way it is going to go? It seems completely pointless having internet connection for me. I'm not even a light user, I manage shopify websites for a living. Are millions of other people wasting their money having a phone and internet contract?

It’s OK. We’ve done it from time to time as a temporary measure. The problem is if someone else needs access and you are out (with your phone). Your phone battery will also get smashed to pieces. However, if it’s just you and it gives you what you need, why not.

I'm not even a light user, I manage shopify websites for a living.

I would suggest that isn't particularly heavy data wise. Yes maybe a few photos but not that high demand

It certainly works for many people, but there are contraints - if you want to tether many devices performance will drop off. It may improve with 6G but that is some way off

It’s OK. We’ve done it from time to time as a temporary measure. The problem is if someone else needs access and you are out (with your phone). Your phone battery will also get smashed to pieces. However, if it’s just you and it gives you what you need, why not.
when usb tethered the battery is actually charging, though

I would suggest that isn't particularly heavy data wise. Yes maybe a few photos but not that high demand