advertisement

No spare wheel

Mentioned a few times now - things along the lines "tyres are good now", implying that some fairy dust is now ued to resist punctures.

Steel radials used to be the norm - now, they ought to be more resistant than fabric, but things like rubber hardness are linked to grip/friction, so I doubt that that has changed much for road tyres.

Anyone want to suggest why current tyres should be or are more resistant to punctures?

Profile? Better roads? Better driving/drivers?

I am unconvinced. Having been driving for 45 years, I do not see any likely change in puncture rates; uncommon then, uncommon now, as big a PITA then as now.
I don't know, but punctures used to be a regular occurrence. I remember helping my dad with a few as a kid in the 70s and several when I started driving. Some cars were worse than others, I remember my mum had a Skoda Estelle for a b out 3 years, it had more punctures than soft Mick. Always on the rear. I was a student and driving it in the holidays, one day it had 2 punctures, I kid you not. One in the morning, fitted the spare, bought a new tyre, another one, other side, that afternoon. Both were decent brands with reasonable tread but low enough to not be worth repairing, Firestone I remember for some reason was a bit cheaper than most but better than the awful Stomils and so on coming out of Poland, and that's what it used. But that car had 2 or 3 punctures a year.
These days, as above it's one per 90k miles, which fits with my observation of every 5-10 years and 15k miles a year.

anyone recommend an accurate tyre pressure gauge?

my tyre blower has one but it is woefully inaccurate compared to the car measurements, but the car cannot dial cannot be seen whilst pumping the tyres up....

I don't want another tyre inflater. I have two one with a gauge and the pork one without

anyone recommend an accurate tyre pressure gauge?