advertisement

Headphone amplifier

DCS

pfm Member
Hi all

I’m looking into getting a headphone amplifier. I have no experience or ever owned a headphone amp and wondered what would be a decent choice. Open to solid state or something with valves. I don’t need a DAC as I have 2 spare, sadly neither have a headphone socket.

Budget around £200 used or new.

Beyer A20 if you can find one s/h - excellent.
Arcam rHead was pretty good but not as.

I have a Graham Slee Novo headphone amp for sale. I've just posted it on the GS forum and will be putting on EBay for £120 plus p&p. Please PM me if its of any interest and I can send details / pictures.

Rega EAR, simple pleasing (not valve though) HP amp, many around s/h.
You need much higher price beating it.

Hi all

I’m looking into getting a headphone amplifier. I have no experience or ever owned a headphone amp and wondered what would be a decent choice. Open to solid state or something with valves. I don’t need a DAC as I have 2 spare, sadly neither have a headphone socket.

Budget around £200 used or new.

First question should be "what headphone are you using?"

IEMS will require less gain and can be more sensitive to noise.
Planar Magnetics, being a lower impedance, usually require more current delivery rather than large voltage swings.
On the other hand Higher impedance headphones can be more inefficient and require higher voltages to drive them to usable volume levels but the higher impedance also draws very little current and therefore requires less power.

If you need a one size fits all solution then look for an amplifier that has switchable gain settings, the ability to output a reasonable voltage for high impedance phones while also providing a reasonable power output for the lower impedance phones such as the Planar magnetics.