advertisement

Naim Supernait

RoA

pfm Member
I have never owned a Naim amplifier but am currently considering a couple of amplifiers, including the Supernait 2. The 3 is out my range.

Most reviews praise the successor to the original, better in every way apparently.

Looking at the innards of the original and 2, it seems that the original had a more elaborate Power Supply including additional smoothing and heat sinking for the transistors? It also had a DAC section which was abandoned in the 2.

Simply looking at this as a layman I can't help but think Naim was perhaps cost cutting. Was the successor cheaper?

If you have owned both of the above please add to this. Thank you.

Screenshot-20220921-115535-Samsung-Internet.jpg

I have just been through an amplifier search myself recently. Admittedly I dropped Naim a while back as it was to me not great value for money and to my old ears the Teddy Pardo ST60 comfortable showed my NAP 200 a clean pair of heels. I think the newer amps close the gap a bit but you pay for it.
Due to new house and different needs I have gone to an integrated amp from Atoll the IN300 which is by far and away the best amp I have had in my system. Huge Soundstage, tight bass, PRAT, detail, unfatiguing. Its like the ST60's bigger brother. If you can, give it a try, I'm glad I did. Its a good deal cheaper than the Naim too, with an excellent onboard dac bit like the old SN1.

Reactions: RoA
I own a Supernait 1 so here is my two cents :
In terms of heat sink, I wouldn’t worry about it as Naim usually use the whole enclosure to dissipate the heat.
In terms of power supply, I have to agree with you but nowadays electrolytic capacitors get smaller and smaller for the same capacitance so it might be the situation here.

The simple answer is that having heard the SN2 & the SN3 a fair bit, the 3 sounds significantly better. It has a phono stage that the 2 didn’t.