advertisement

Falcon Acoustics re-introduce the Q7 MiniMonitor.

Yes exactly! The Q7s are like a sorted LS3/5a. There's a good reason why Malcolm Jones chose a cabinet size with a Q of 0.7. It would be interesting
to do a blind comparison. IMHO the Q7s would walk it.

The Q7 has a little more bass reach but not that much really. Saying they’d ‘walk it’ versus the Falcon LS3/5a is quite an exaggeration - I’ve heard both in the same system a few times and I’d still prefer the original if I had to choose only one.

The Q7 has a little more bass reach but not that much really. Saying they’d ‘walk it’ versus the Falcon LS3/5a is quite an exaggeration - I’ve heard both in the same system a few times and I’d still prefer the original if I had to choose only one.

I worked as an assistant film editor and later a film dubbing editor at the BBC for over ten years mid eighties to mid nineties. I'm very familiar with the LS3/5a they were our
main monitors in the edit suites. I think the Q7s are better balanced.

I worked as an assistant film editor and later a film dubbing editor at the BBC for over ten years mid eighties to mid nineties. I'm very familiar with the LS3/5a they were our
main monitors in the edit suites. I think the Q7s are better balanced.

Not exactly sure what you mean by better balanced although the BBC designed them to have the balance they required after a massively costly R&D effort (as you’ll know). If they wanted a different balance they could’ve used a larger cabinet like the Q7 does. I didn’t really find there to be a particularly substantial difference between the two speakers.

I enjoyed my Falcon LS3/5a over the last 18 months very much before moving to Klipsch Cornwall but if I wanted to buy a ‘better’ mini-monitor I think I’d open my options to modern types rather than a tweaked vintage speaker design (however nice), which is what the Q7 is.