advertisement

Today I have mainly been v2

Status
Not open for further replies.
In Health and Safety committee, listening to reports about Lidar, Radiation, Biological, renewal of drone licences CAA regulations...... etc..... and trip hazards

getting a call alarm sorted for someone . found out that they have no landline except that supplied by internet . not very good really . will have to sort that

Knocking together a sewing table for my SO. Next is an ironing table then I should be able to crack on with a pair of speakers.

Went for a walk in The Field, but went past the Church instead.

Met an old neighbour from 15+ years ago - they moved away, but have moved back to the area.
In that delightful unconscious way down-to-earth folk speak, he told me about all of his illnesses, and then told me in graphic terms what his Wife has had wrong with her ‘downstairs’ area…
Bless him. He knows I was a Nurse - I gave him a bollocking once when I found out he had driven to A&E after having a Heart Attack, rather than contact me 4 doors away.
He now has leukaemia. Lost lots of weight. It was nice to listen to him tell me his woes for 20 minutes, although I could have done with a bench to sit on. I had to keep shifting my weight off of my gammy leg. I might not see him again, so the discomfort was a side issue.
He remembered my name - I remembered the name of his Wife. All gravy. (that isn’t her name)

Wife has been to a local junior school to help young children who need support with reading, I can’t remember the name of the charity - Wife has been doing this for years now. Finds it very rewarding, but incredibly tiring - the focus one needs to give the child the help is intense.
Occasionally Wife refers a child for support because of potential abuse at their home. Things come out when talking one-to-one that wouldn’t present in the classroom.
Rather her than me, I would rather just work in a hospice…
(excuse the twisted nurse humour)