advertisement

Tannoy Lockwood Academy 2's. First listening impressions and advice sought.

So much great info here. As soon as time allows I shall modify the ports but for now I'm enjoying the speakers as they are... But I am itching to hear how much more they can do.
Thanks for all your help!:)

I'm a little surprised you find the speakers so bass-light with the port blocked-off, however I have no experience of the HPD385. I did briefly own some HPD315 in sealed Chatsworth cabs and the bass positively pumped out of them and was punchier and more authoritative than my MG15 in sealed Lancaster cabs. I didn't have the gear to take acoustic measurements back then so I cannot confirm how deep the dug, but they certainly weren't lacking impact in my 4.2m x 3.8m room! I wish I'd kept them... :(

@cooky1257 would you mind modelling the HPD315 in a sealed Chatsworth cab? I'm curious to see what the roll-off's like.

Last edited:
Although the Sugden has quite a low damping factor for a SS amp it might still be overdamping the bass.Valve amps or a Bakoon or Dartzeel SS amp will have higher output impedance and lower damping factor and would be worth a try.

Do we know what kind of damping factor Tannoys like? I know this has been discussed now and again in the past but I've never really got a handle on it. Also NFB?

I have two pairs of Eatons - one 70s, one Legacy, and I've found it interesting to discover their slightly different amplifier preferences. It's quite subtle. The 70s Eatons love my Unison Research Triode 25 (push pull valve amp around 45W, I use it on the high NFB setting but that's still pretty modest I think). The Legacy Eatons sound lovely with that same amp on acoustic music, but they really need my Unico DM to get going. This is a 150W hybrid with higher damping factor.

I guess there is a spectrum running from Golds to HPDs to the more recent drivers. I'd love to have a really detailed sense of what they want and need.