advertisement

Pros and cons of active speakers

I have a problem with putting a vibrating transformer based amplifier in a vibrating loudspeaker.

Why does it need a vibrating transformer and why does it have to be in the speaker rather than external on the back?

I have been using ATC50ASls and room correction for about 15 years now, first with a TacT2.2x and now with a Trinnov Amethyst. A few observations:

1. You can set the Trinnov just to deal with the discrepancies between right and left channels if you prefer to retain the core sound of your system/room. It surely must be better to avoid a (in my case, in a pretty symmetrical room) a 8db variation between left and right channels below 200hz. My ears tell me it is

2. Not all room EQ is created equal. The Trinnov 3D mic which (I have been told) allows it to determine direct versus reflected sound produces much better results than TacT ever did.
Rodney Gold (RIP) tried many room correction devices and until he heard Trinnov said ‘they are all the same’

3. After I bought a PSA Directstream DAC to partner with the Trinnov and PSA memory transport I thought I might as well test direct I2S transport-dac versus Trinnov in the chain. The latter is miles ahead and I may sell the DAC. In fact the DAC in the Trinnov is pretty good

in my case Trinnov support has been amazing. No stiff drink required to psych myself up (unlike with TacT where you’d need a whole bottle to hand!)

Salman

It's all in the implementation, most UK domestic rooms are not great. Mine is no exception athough there are no gross peaks or suck outs. I spent a lot of time getting DSP right, but I certainly wouldn't be without it. Switching it out is quite amusing.

It's all in the implementation, most UK domestic rooms are not great. Mine is no exception athough there are no gross peaks or suck outs. I spent a lot of time getting DSP right, but I certainly wouldn't be without it. Switching it out is quite amusing.