advertisement

Lorry drivers and poor pay& conditions.

More likely import 50,000 Indian or Bangladeshi drivers with "genuine" licenses

No need, there must be thousands of drivers from Afganistan who have been trained by Taliban or Al Qaida (or even US) to drive military vehicles and were recently airlifted out?? Interesting future,

FF

I can't imagine the impact of all this on Britain's productivity this week, but it is not going to be trivial.

Yup. Chickens coming home to roost, perhaps. Companies need to start thinking of staff as people with lives, rather than as assets to sweat.

True. It is bloody hard graft fighting for better conditions. I've been doing this since 2017. I'm just an ordinary bloke, not a TU Representative.

It is damning that it has taken a situation like this to bring this stuff to the attention of the General Public.

The editorial in this month's Buses Magazine appears to suggest that a shortage of Bus Drivers might be next...

Yup. Chickens coming home to roost, perhaps. Companies need to start thinking of staff as people with lives, rather than as assets to sweat.

I'm not saying you're wrong but where's the money going to come from?

Increased prices probably. The low wage, high staff turnover model is not sustainable. This situation is proof of that.
So the money could come from improved productivity: less staff turnover, less sickness, for starters.

Agreed. I just can't see any road haulier going first on that, for fear of pricing themselves out of the market.

Market Conditions. The poorly run operators will fold. We are beginning to see who is bathing naked as the tide is drawing out...

I don't trust the government will address this properly. They will continue with the short termism that got us here in the first place...