advertisement

What classic and beautiful turntable + tonearm + cartridge up to ~£1k?

hiphopopotamus

pfm Member
Hi all,

I've been given clearance by the OH to pull the trigger on a turntable for the second system - but comes with some strings attached...it needs to:
i) complement the acoustic/vocal/blues+jazz focused setup of this system (the amp is a Lavardin IS and speakers are AudioNote AN Ks)
ii) be a thing of beauty itself, so adds something to the room

Looking around it looks like there are various options in the Thorens, Garrard, Linn (maybe even Michell) vein. But I'm completely new to this world (only come through the relatively modern iterations of Rega/Pro-ject/Technics).

Primarily I'm looking for something that:
a) will do a sterling & smooth job in this system
b) is something I can keep for a long time and is likely to maintain its value (ie is considered a bit of a classic)
c) looks beautiful at present and potentially can be made more so with upgrade paths
d) doesn't break the £1000 mark (at least not too badly) for the table + arm + cartridge (I'm not too worried about the phono stage at present as, if it doesn't fit into the overall budget, I'll just use my NVA stage from my primary system for a while).

Does anyone have any suggestions for what represents best value at this price point? I notice that LP12s are probably just beyond my reach... but what is the rung slightly below?
Happy to think through spending the majority of the £1000 on an expensive deck and getting a cheap(er) tonearm + cartridge for now that will be upgraded in time...

What would you do?

Cheers!

Rega is the obvious choice but they do look a bit modern. Theorens is another option & they look more traditional, many get really good results from them.

Good luck.

I would have thought it a struggle to get a LP12, Garrard or Michell for under £1k if your including and tonearm and cartridge within that price.