advertisement

Avondale NCC300 Monos Underway

It's nothing to do with bias or heatsinking! It's due to lack of SOAR for the output devices as explained above and ANY AND ALL amplifiers using a single pair of bipolar output devices on rails of 50V plus and no current limiting/protection will be equally prone to such blow ups.

Stick to a max of 40V rails and all should be well.
I'm sure what you are saying is good advice, but as I said I have been using different versions of these amps for over 10 years @ 53v rails and all has been well and I have never had one blow up like that?, I'm sure many others will agree with me here
There will always be failures with DIY builds but there is nothing wrong with these amps and they are not unreliable as you stated ?IMHO.
I do use speaker protection

Alan

I'm sure what you are saying is good advice, but as I said I have been using different versions of these amps for over 10 years @ 53v rails and all has been well and I have never had one blow up like that?, I'm sure many others will agree with me here
There will always be failures with DIY builds but there is nothing wrong with these amps and they are not unreliable as you stated ?IMHO.
I do use speaker protection

Alan

Such a unit is safe until it is asked to produce too much current, such as into low impedance/awkward loads, whilst being powered from excessively high voltage rails. A phenomenon called secondary breakdown can then occur with bipolar transistors (mosfets are basically immune to this) where a hot spot develops on the die and this causes a short circuit. It is precisely why Quad built in the current limiting to the 405 which used very similar output devices and 50V rails.