advertisement

Reliable online source for matched valves / tubes

James

Lord of the Erg\o/s
I'd like to refresh the valves on my newly acquired 20-year old preamplifier, which has a pair of 12AU7 and a quad of 12AX7. The current 'matched' pair of 12AU7s (Psvane with gold pins) are supposedly newish, but the 12AX7s seem to be original. One of the latter doesn't glow, but the in-built phono stage seems to work fine.

Where can I easily and reliably get a new set of matched valves, and what can I expect to pay for something halfway decent. I think the preamplifier was originally equipped with JJ Electronic valves, so that is the baseline.

Any advice from the valve/tube gurus would be much appreciated. I'm an absolute noob when it comes to thermionic devices.

James

I'd like to refresh the valves on my newly acquired 20-year old preamplifier, which has a pair of 12AU7 and a quad of 12AX7. The current 'matched' pair of 12AU7s (Psvane with gold pins) are supposedly newish, but the 12AX7s seem to be original. One of the latter doesn't glow, but the in-built phono stage seems to work fine.

Where can I easily and reliably get a new set of matched valves, and what can I expect to pay for something halfway decent. I think the preamplifier was originally equipped with JJ Electronic valves, so that is the baseline.

Any advice from the valve/tube gurus would be much appreciated. I'm an absolute noob when it comes to thermionic devices.

James
In the US/Canada it's TubeDepot and TheTubeStore.

James is in NZ, so buying from the UK likely isn’t economically viable. Maybe Japan is a better bet. Don’t overlook eBay either, there are good sellers who sell tested paired valves, you can learn a lot from a seller’s feedback etc. For preamps I’d go NOS or tested strong every time. A decent pair of Mullards, RCAs, Sylvanias etc will last well over a decade of typical use, so why slum it?