advertisement

Fitting A Cartridge - Absolute Beginner Advice

They didn’t move/come off easily, had to twist them a bit to loosen them. When they started moving I was very cautious to not yank them as the wires look fragile.

If you get braver, repalce the tags with Cardas ones - shaped like a dolly peg (if that means anything to you) - simple but brilliant design, so easy to use.

If you get braver, repalce the tags with Cardas ones - shaped like a dolly peg (if that means anything to you) - simple but brilliant design, so easy to use.

I am unable to see any point in changing them.

The cartridge fitted has several spare styli

When clearing out my late stepfather's tools I found some very narrow needle nose pliers. These have proved invaluable for attaching and detaching cartridge tags. Much better than fat-fingered faffery.

The perfect headshell lead tool is a proper German Sklar stainless steel surgical scissor clamp (avoid the disposable plastic shite).

Lock these on to the solder/crimp tag end and then your hand is free to hold them any way that you like before pulling or pushing.

Ideal for installing new leads into headshells too.

You'll find these on ePay, often with burnt tips from using them as soldering heat sink and/or roach clip.

s-l1600-2.jpg

The perfect headshell lead tool is a proper German Sklar stainless steel surgical scissor clamp (avoid the disposable plastic shite).

Lock these on to the solder/crimp tag end and then your hand is free to hold them any way that you like before pulling or pushing.

Ideal for installing new leads into headshells too.

You'll find these on ePay, often with burnt tips from using them as soldering heat sink and/or roach clip.

s-l1600-2.jpg

That is what I have from my Nursing days.
It is in a jar in the bathroom, I use it to yank hairs out of my nose.

It didn’t occur to me to use them, hence the request for direction :)