advertisement

Fitting A Cartridge - Absolute Beginner Advice

Big Tabs

looking backwards, going forwards
An introduction:

I have never put a cartridge on a head shell, or set one up from scratch.

Setting bias and cartridge weight I can do, and have no problems with those processes.

My ‘B’ deck is a Heybrook TT2, with a Linn LV X tone arm. For a few years it has had an old Audio Technica 95 cart/stylus on it (the green one) - I use this deck for records that are tired, but very playable.

When I had the cartridge swapped the cartridge on my ‘A’ deck (now a Ortofon 2m Black) I had the old cartridge removed, a Goldring 2100 and kept the 3 styli & cart. safe.

The Goldring 2100 cartridge is now on the Linn LV X arm after about 4 hours of gentle swearing and doubt.

I tried to print a template thing off of Vinyl Engine web site, but I have never used one and couldn’t understand how to use it. Gave up with that.
Had a go with the Tony L recommended Azimuth/vertical tracking height perspex thing, but again, couldn’t get on with it. (I do understand the principle of setting azimuth and v.t.a.)

So I have done it all by eye (the one that works not too bad).

Question - What should I listen for in terms of set-up issues/mistakes?

The music sounds balanced in terms of Left/Right speakers.
I am on the third album to test the sound - no skipping, bass is present. Cymbals present.

The tone arm lowering lever doesn’t work (I don’t use them anyways) and the rubber internal weight sleeve thing has perished, so I stuck a bit of blu-tac where the sleeve would be - works okay :)
I set the weight at 1.7 g. for starters, in the middle of what is recommended for the 2100 cart.

The tone arm looks parallel with the record when playing.

I didn’t over tighten any bolts

It sounds a lot better than the (probably) knackered A.T. cart.

Anything obvious I should have done?

No idea what overhang is, is that the stylus past the spindle?