advertisement

Rega planar 3 or old lp12

Speaking of Occam, LP12 managed to convey timing information well from the off, demonstrably as a result of the borrowing of inventive steps from over the 10 years prior.

Last edited:
Speaking of Occam, LP12 managed to convey timing information well from the off, demonstrably as a result of the borrowing of inventive steps from over the 10 years prior.

I think it was more chance than judgment. The sprung chassis concept is aimed at isolating the platter/arm from the outside world. Having the motor on the fixed part of the plinth is to isolate the motor noise. The latter in particular is not good for absolute speed stability but creates a pleasing effect nonetheless.

LP12 managed to convey timing information well from the off, demonstrably as a result of the borrowing of inventive steps from over the 10 years prior.
Good point. I'm no expert but it seems to have been helped along by a better bearing design and also trial and error and a good ear, such as Martin Dalgleish's, although I guess Ivor did a fair bit by himself in the early years. A key element seems to be the managing the vibrations rather than trying to dampen them out but I've never heard anyone at Linn say much in detail. Ivor once told me that very few people really understand the LP12. No doubt that will annoy many folks here but I suspect it was this approach that he was referring to. Has anyone here heard anything similar?

I think it was more chance than judgment. The sprung chassis concept is aimed at isolating the platter/arm from the outside world. Having the motor on the fixed part of the plinth is to isolate the motor noise. The latter in particular is not good for absolute speed stability but creates a pleasing effect nonetheless.
Makes sense to me.