advertisement

Capacitors - Does size matter?

Lieberung

pfm Member
When designing an amplifier, and you want a total amount of capacitance as a power reserve for the power amp, lets say a total of 50k microfarad (F). Will there be any difference in sonic characteristics between a design using 2 large (25k F) vs another design using 10 small (5k F), when all else is identical and the total F is the same?

Im not a electric engineer, just curious on why some manufacturers (e.g. Accuphase) use few large capacitors in their amps, while most others use smaller, but more.

It's historically the way it was done, due to availability of parts, why bother soldering 30 parts into a pcb when one will do it?

The output stage of a big ole amp doesn't care about a few mOhm of series resistance in a 50v rail.

It has become a design fad lately, though there will be rare examples where marginally higher esr could be an issue, ie badly designed digital circuits...etc

Thanks for your input. I have read somewhere that big caps generally are more expensive per F and that its more difficult to evenly match few identical caps in F down to decimals for each channel, than matching a pool of several smaller.. Or was it the other way around? Anyways, components cost and practicallity is ofcourse important factors for manufacturers. I was more interested in if there were other reasons. For example would big caps in theory provide better dynamics (e.g. typical in Orchestra music) but be slower to regenerate than several smaller, which might better for other types of music with less dynamic variations in dynamic scale but at a faster tempo (e.g. like rock, metal, techno).
As you say, it might be just marketing or cost considerations.