advertisement

Pre for ATC actives

A friend of mine uses an Audiolab 8200DQ with his SCM50ASLs. Plenty of analogue and digital inputs, nicely built, great sound.

I have one too and I love mine.

The DQ seems quite rare but you can pick up a CDQ for about £500.

Just been looking and there are a lot of nice digital options suggested but I do need 2 or more analogue inputs.
On a slightly different note, I am new to the XLR connections thing and if my understanding is correct they are all basically the same and providing they are of decent quality the length of the run is not a problem, not that I need longer than 4m ?

I use a Primare Pre 32 with MM30 digital board fitted driving SCM20 active towers. Nice, neat, low box count, good sounding set-up for the family room.

Just been looking and there are a lot of nice digital options suggested but I do need 2 or more analogue inputs.
On a slightly different note, I am new to the XLR connections thing and if my understanding is correct they are all basically the same and providing they are of decent quality the length of the run is not a problem, not that I need longer than 4m ?
XLR is for sure the way to go, 4m is absolutely not a problem. And no need to get suckered into exotic cables, plenty companies like www.designacable.com will supply well made cables at fair prices.

https://www.designacable.com/studio-leads-4/mic-leads.html?connection_type=217

Just about the only choice you have is whether to use star-quad cables or not. The advantage is less susceptibility to some kinds of interference, the downside is longer runs might be problematic. And of course colour - the Van Damme cables come in several different colours, that help the cables fit with your decor.