advertisement

What was your 'keystone' album?

I bought my first LP in 1958 with my Christmas money, Duane Eddy - Have twangy guitar will travel. Then when I started work as an apprentice in 1962 I was buying singles, mainly Stones, Byrds, Loving Spoonful it wasn’t till about 1966 listening to Radio Caroline I heard Love - My little red book, I was hooked bought the their 1st album, followed by Da Capo which led to Forever Changes for me my keystone.

Regards,

Martin

Blimey! That's 2 for Tubular Bells. Who would've thought? It's one of those albums that I wish I'd bough sooner as I missed the original B/W twins virgin label and ended up with the coloured version. Damn!

I started trading records from a very young age, so my collection actually contains very few physical items I bought in the early days as I’ve upgraded the copy several times over the years seeking that ‘mint first press from country of artist origin’ or very close to it. This was all the more relevant as the local record shop (Rox, a Wirral chain) used to sell many budget imports that were no where near as good as original UK pressings (poor pressings, single sleeve rather than gatefold, missing inserts etc), so I upgraded all of those decades ago. The penny dropped here with Hawkwind’s Space Ritual which I knew should have a wonderful fold-out sleeve, and mine was in a bog-standard gatefold (long since replaced with a UK 1st press).

I was thinking about this thread earlier and trying to figure out what my oldest actual album is, i.e. the physical item I have owned the longest and still have that copy, and I’m pretty sure it is Futuristic Dragon by T. Rex. I saw them live as a 13 year old (‘76) and still have the programme stored in the sleeve. I’ve got some older singles, but any albums older than that have been replaced with better copies or have been sold and later re-bought over the years.